Hay For My Ox & Other Stories

USD $11.92
(No reviews yet) Write a Review
ISBN 9780863159138

A First Reading Book for Waldorf Schools

by Isabel Wyatt

  • A new edition of the classic reader for Steiner-Waldorf Classes 1 and 2
  • A selection of stories and poems ranging in style and content for each year group
  • Includes The Prince Who Kept Pigs, The Tree of Three Cries, The Giant and the Child, and The Monkey and the Pea.
This classic early reading book for Steiner-Waldorf schools is now available again in a newly edited edition. 

The stories and poems range in style and content from the fairy-tale elements of Class 1 (age 6-7) to the legends and animal fables introduced in Class 2 (age 7-8). 

Rhythmical repetition of words, sounds and phrases is used throughout the book but especially widely in the tales for younger children. 

It includes The Prince Who Kept Pigs, The Tree of Three Cries, The Giant and the Child, The Fork-Tail and the Rams, and The Monkey and the Pea.

Softcover, 104 pages with full colour illustrations.  229 x 210 mm.

Floris Books, 2012.  2nd edition.


Table of Contents

Hay For My Ox -- Isabel Wyatt 
Brother Ox and Brother Ass -- Isabel Wyatt 
The Hare -- translated by Rose Fyleman 
Where Go the Boats? -- R. L. Stevenson 
The Prince Who Kept Pigs -- Isabel Wyatt 
Mark and His Lamp -- Isabel Wyatt 
Ripe Plums in Spring -- Gesta Romanorum (medieval) 
Spring -- William Blake 
Some One -- Walter de la Mare 
The Elves’ Dance -- Anonymous 
The Tree of Three Cries -- Celtic Legend 
How Sheep Got Sheep Bells -- Old Legend 
The Giant and the Child -- Old Legend 
Two Prayers of Olden Days -- Anonymous 
King Vincent and Lord Tom-Tit -- Isabel Wyatt 
Do Not Go into the Wood -- Indian Fable 
The Cuckoo -- Anonymous 
May Day -- Anonymous 
The Caterpillar -- Christina Rossetti 
The Rain -- William H. Davies 
The Fork-Tail and the Rams -- Indian Fable 
King Cackle -- Indian Fable 
The Monkey and the Pea -- Indian Fable 
Old Riddles -- Anonymous


About the Author

Isabel Wyatt was born in England in 1901.  She spent many years teaching young children and was then, until her retirement in 1965, co-director of studies at Hawkwood College in Gloucestershire.  She compiled many books for children, including The Seven-Year-Old Wonder Book, Homer's Odyssey, King Beetle-Tamer and The Book of Fairy Princes.  She died in 1992.