lock plus

The Story of the Wind Children

CAD $22.00

by Sybille von Offers.

One of the wind children takes George on an adventure through fields and orchards and across the sky.

George is playing with his boats, but there's no wind to make them sail. Then one of the wind children comes and blows especially for him -- and together they embark on a great adventure. 

The wind child blows dandelions in the meadows, shakes apples from the tree and blows the leaves around and eventually she blows George home on a cloud. 

From the author of The Story of the Root Children and The Story of the Snow Children, this is another classic children's story with beautiful illustrations in the art-nouveau style.

Hardcover, 24 pages.  298 x 216 mm.

Floris books, 2006.

 

Reviews:

'Born in East Prussia in 1881, Sibylle von Olfers' highly adept naturalist style places her work firmly in the vein of Beatrix Potter, Kate Greenaway and Elsa Beskow. On publication of "The Story of the Root Children" in 1996, Floris Books in Edinburgh made this classic of European children's literature available in the United Kingdom. It seems fitting that ten years following this they should reaffirm commitment to Olfers prestige in the children's literature world through publication of "The Story of the Wind Children". Autumn and nature are brilliantly personified in this beautifully detailed work' 
--Jake Hope, Achuka 

'In each of her seasonal books, von Olfers' illustrations are painted in tones which perfectly match the mood of the time of year, and her cherubic Nature children speak of a timeless innocence. A joy for children and an inspiration for adults.' 
-- Juno Magazine, Autumn 2007

Read more
Current stock 0
Temporarily Out of Stock
Add to wishlist
Sold out

Description

by Sybille von Offers.

One of the wind children takes George on an adventure through fields and orchards and across the sky.

George is playing with his boats, but there's no wind to make them sail. Then one of the wind children comes and blows especially for him -- and together they embark on a great adventure. 

The wind child blows dandelions in the meadows, shakes apples from the tree and blows the leaves around and eventually she blows George home on a cloud. 

From the author of The Story of the Root Children and The Story of the Snow Children, this is another classic children's story with beautiful illustrations in the art-nouveau style.

Hardcover, 24 pages.  298 x 216 mm.

Floris books, 2006.

 

Reviews:

'Born in East Prussia in 1881, Sibylle von Olfers' highly adept naturalist style places her work firmly in the vein of Beatrix Potter, Kate Greenaway and Elsa Beskow. On publication of "The Story of the Root Children" in 1996, Floris Books in Edinburgh made this classic of European children's literature available in the United Kingdom. It seems fitting that ten years following this they should reaffirm commitment to Olfers prestige in the children's literature world through publication of "The Story of the Wind Children". Autumn and nature are brilliantly personified in this beautifully detailed work' 
--Jake Hope, Achuka 

'In each of her seasonal books, von Olfers' illustrations are painted in tones which perfectly match the mood of the time of year, and her cherubic Nature children speak of a timeless innocence. A joy for children and an inspiration for adults.' 
-- Juno Magazine, Autumn 2007

Reviews (0)

Be the first to write a review

Additional info

SKU: ISBN 9780863155628