Hay for My Ox and Other Stories

ISBN 9780863159138

Regular price $22.95 Sale price $22.50

Rendering loop-subscriptions
Only 2 items in stock

A First Reading Book for Waldorf Schools

by Isabel Wyatt

This classic early reading book for Steiner-Waldorf schools is now available again in a newly edited edition.

The stories and poems range in style and content from the fairy-tale elements of Class (or Grade) 1 (ages 6-7) to the legends and animal fables introduced in Class (or Grade 2) (ages 7-8).

Rhythmical repetition of words, sounds and phrases is used throughout the book but especially widely in the tales for younger children.

It includes The Prince Who Kept Pigs, The Tree of Three Cries, The Giant and the Child, The Fork-Tail and the Rams, and The Monkey and the Pea.

Table of Contents

Hay For My Ox -- Isabel Wyatt
Brother Ox and Brother Ass -- Isabel Wyatt
The Hare -- translated by Rose Fyleman
Where Go the Boats? -- R. L. Stevenson
The Prince Who Kept Pigs -- Isabel Wyatt
Mark and His Lamp -- Isabel Wyatt
Ripe Plums in Spring -- Gesta Romanorum (medieval)
Spring -- William Blake
Some One -- Walter de la Mare
The Elves’ Dance -- Anonymous
The Tree of Three Cries -- Celtic Legend
How Sheep Got Sheep Bells -- Old Legend
The Giant and the Child -- Old Legend
Two Prayers of Olden Days -- Anonymous
King Vincent and Lord Tom-Tit -- Isabel Wyatt
Do Not Go into the Wood -- Indian Fable
The Cuckoo -- Anonymous
May Day -- Anonymous
The Caterpillar -- Christina Rossetti
The Rain -- William H. Davies
The Fork-Tail and the Rams -- Indian Fable
King Cackle -- Indian Fable
The Monkey and the Pea -- Indian Fable
Old Riddles -- Anonymous


Floris Books.