Change Country (0)



Thorfinn the Nicest Viking & the Dreadful Dragon (Book 7 in the Series)

Regular price $12.00

by David MacPhail; Illustrated by Richard Morgan

  • Thorfinn is the world's worst viking -- polite, kind, intelligent, and with no interest in raiding and plundering!
  • Hilarious dialogue plus brilliant illustrations makes this a perfect series to encourage solo reading among developing readers
  • Thorfinn, The Nicest Viking is a funny and fearsome series for young readers who love Horrid Henry and Diary of a Wimpy Kid, set in a world where manners mean nothing and politeness is pointless!
  • Seventh book in the early-reader chapter book series where hilarious dialogue meets brilliant illustration

Thorfinn is a nice, polite young Viking. Can he persuade a dreadful dragon to help him win the Shetland Fire Festival competition?

Prepare yourself for the wrath of the Norsemen! That is, if you don't mind and it's not too inconvenient...


Everyone knows Vikings are ruthless barbarians whose idea of a good time involves pillaging, plundering and feasting. But Thorfinn is no ordinary Viking! He is always polite and happily offers to wash the dirty dishes. Too bad his dad is Harald the Skull-Splitter, Village Chief and the roughest and toughest Viking of them all.

Vikings far and wide are travelling to Scotland's Shetland Islands for the great Fire Festival where they'll compete to become the ultimate champion by creating dazzling fire displays. Chief Harald is determined to be victorious but it seems as if Thorfinn has ruined their chances against rival Viking Chief Magnus the Bone-Breaker, until he remembers a story about a once-legendary dragon, now in hiding…

Can Thorfinn and his ragtag crew track down the dreadful dragon and persuade her to help them put on a winning performance?

Thorfinn and the Dreadful Dragon is the seventh adventure for Thorfinn the Nicest Viking in this funny, action-packed illustrated series for young readers which bridges the gap between Horrid Henry and Diary of a Wimpy Kid, set in a world where manners mean nothing and politeness is pointless!The 6th book in the Thorfinn series.

Recommended by the publisher for ages 6-9 yrs.

Softcover, 136 pages. 197 x 158 mm. With 50 black and white illustrations.

Floris Books, 2019.

About the Author

David MacPhail left home at eighteen to travel the world and have adventures. After working as a chicken wrangler, a ghost-tour guide and a waiter on a tropical island, he now has the sensible job of writing about yetis and Vikings. At home in Perthshire, Scotland, he exists on a diet of cream buns and zombie movies. David is also the author of Yeti on the Loose and the Thorfinn the Nicest Viking series.

Richard Morgan was born and raised by goblins on the Yorkshire moors. He has painted backgrounds for Disney TV and now writes and illustrates children's books. He lives in Cambridge, England, and has a family of goblins of his own.

Reviews

'Thorfinn and the Dreadful Dragon is funny and adventure-filled, and would be particularly enjoyed by newly-independent readers. While it's sure to be a hit with existing fans, it also works well as a stand-alone.'
-- Roaring Reads